Experienced Legal Protection From The Penalties Of A Hawaii DUI
The state of Hawaii will not hesitate to crack down on you harshly if you receive a charge of driving under the influence (DUI). It is very important to hire an experienced legal team to assist. At Law Office of Brian S. Kim. we have the skill to help.
For more than 15 collective years, our criminal defense lawyers have served the people of Oahu in a range of criminal law cases. If you face the potentially life-altering consequences of a DUI, we know the law. We can help.
What Are The Sentences For DUI In Hawaii?
The penalties for a DUI conviction range in severity depending on whether the offense is your first or a subsequent one. Judges and district attorneys sometimes grant leniency to first offenders or people struggling with alcohol or drug dependency. DUI sentences can include:
- First offense: A fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 72 hours of community service, license revocation of up to one year, and 48 hours to five days in jail.
- Second offense: A fine between $1,000 and $3,000, license revocation of two to three years, up to 240 hours of community service, license revocation of up to 18 months, and five to 30 days in jail.
- Third or subsequent offense: A fine between $2,000 and $5,000, a minimum of 10 days in jail, up to five years of probation, up to five years in jail, license revocation of up to two years, and mandatory substance abuse treatment.
A fourth or additional offense results in a license revocation of five to 10 years. However, drivers have the option of applying to have an interlock ignition device installed in their vehicle so they can continue to drive during the revocation period. For the best chance you can get at minimizing or avoiding a harsh sentence or to get more information about DUIs, please work with our team of experienced Oahu DUI defense lawyers.