Get The Answers You Need About Hawaii DUIs
Law Office of Brian S. Kim is a reputable criminal defense law firm serving the people of Honolulu and Oahu. Our driving under the influence (DUI) defense attorneys bring more than 15 combined years of experience to the firm. As a former prosecutor, attorney Brian S. Kim has in-depth knowledge of the law from the other side.
If you have questions about the drunk driving charges you face, you can come to us.
What can I expect to face with a first-time DUI in Oahu?
- At least $500 in fines and up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to five days in jail
- Three days (72 hours) of community service
- A 14-day rehabilitation program
You may also experience unexpected de facto consequences such as loss of educational opportunities, losing out on jobs and limited housing options.
Do I really need a lawyer for my DUI charge in Hawaii?
You have the right to represent yourself in court – however, this is not always wise. Judges in Hawaii have a lot of discretion when it comes to assigning sentences. Your best chance of receiving a light sentence – or even of getting your charge dismissed – is to have a drunk driving defense lawyer who understands how to work with judges and the DA, or prosecutor.
What are the penalties associated with a second DUI offense in Oahu?
The sentence for each consecutive DUI is more severe than the one prior. For instance, the punishment for a second DUI conviction may include:
- Fines between $1,000 and $3,000
- Community service of up to 240 hours
- License revocation between two and three years
- Jail time of five to 30 days
A subsequent offense will include even higher fines, greater community service hours and longer incarceration periods.
What happens if I refuse to take a blood alcohol content test In Hawaii?
By operating a vehicle, you give your implied consent to take a blood alcohol content (BAC) test. If you refuse to take such a test, the state can revoke your driver’s license for two to four years.